The TBR Pile: How Do You Do It?

IMG_20140701_151130

To Be Read piles – I think we all have them (and if  you don’t, what’s your secret?!) and I’m curious to know how you manage yours. As I’ve mentioned before and I’ll totally mention again I have over 400 books that I OWN that I need to read. And I’m constantly acquiring more, so that number isn’t likely to go down anytime soon.

I keep track of all the books I own and the ones I need to read on Librarything. What I’ve done is make myself a “priority TBR” – a little list written on a post-it that I keep in the cover of the little journal I log my reading progress in. It’s constantly changing based on review copies I might receive, recommendations from friends, new books I really want to get to, or old books that I’ve been thinking about for a while.

I went a little crazy on Netgalley recently, so I have quite a few e-books to read before they hit the shelves, plus some new and old purchases that I’m just dying to get to. But I might add items to this list at any time, or completely disregard what I have scheduled next. I’ve always been horrible at planning out what I’m going to read – I  see people who post their TBR lists for each month, and even if they don’t complete their list, they usually seem to stick to it, order-wise. I’ve never been able to do that. I’ll change my mind at a moment’s notice when it comes to what I’ll read next.

Right now my little post-it has 24 titles on it, with room to spare. Now, I’m not giving myself any time limit, this is just the order I want to try to stick to. Wish me luck!

~

How do you TBR? Are you a list-maker like me? Do you keep it all in your head? Do  you even try to plan anything out, and if so, do you usually stick to  your plans?

7 thoughts on “The TBR Pile: How Do You Do It?

  1. Being a broke college student helps the most with my tbr pile. I can’t afford to buy as many books as I would like therefore my tbr isn’t humongous.I have about 25 unread books and that number seems so overwhelmingly large to me.

    • Do you read them in any order? Like oldest purchase to newest? Or just jump around? To clarify, I’ve had some of these books since I was a teen and still haven’t read them. This is like, my life’s worth of TBR. Haha it’s crazy.

  2. I have a huge list on Goodreads for my TBR. I also keep the priority books on an isolated shelf next to my bed. I really want to use librarything, but they have a limit for the number of books shelved, and I don’t want to pay for more room.

    • Yeah I paid back in 2011 when I first signed up for librarything. Not sure what the cost is now but I paid $15 for a lifetime membership and unlimited space. For me it’s been worth it

      • Yah, no pressure! I was late to goodreads, so it doesn’t reflect all of my books. I tried to upload my list from LT and not everything transferred. I like the social aspect of goodreads though. It’s like Facebook for books.

  3. Every time I get overwhelmed by the books I “need” to read I make myself a reading list (kind of like your post its). Mostly the list consists of the books I want/need to review that month. I also have a google calendar with my posting and review schedule (I can get a liiiitttle OCD about that stuff) so that also helps me decide what I need to read and when. Luckily I’m a pretty fast reader and I don’t really “mood read” too often, so this system has been working out for me so far! I’ve never checked out Librarything but it sounds handy!

Leave a Reply

