Judging A Book By Its Cover: The Witch of Blackbird Pond

20140817_132858

This is my weekly post where I choose to appreciate a book for its cover art or overall design – to me, a well designed book is like a piece of art. We all judge book covers to some extent. Personally, it’s usually a title/cover combination that pulls me in when I’m browsing in a bookstore. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books, or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers (looking at you, Penguin!) wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

20140817_132906My copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond was given to me by my aunt, and she received it from my grandmother back in 1970. It’s marked as the thirteenth printing by Houghton Mifflin Company and The Riverside Press and it’s from 1958. It has that wonderful old book smell, while still being in excellent condition – I’ve read this book at least four times. The book jacket is already wrapped in that protective plastic that libraries use, and I myself put on all my hardcovers, and it’s marked as only $3.50! I wish hardcovers were still that cheap! I love the cover art on both the jacket and the inside cover.

20140817_133012

20140817_132942

20140817_133001

20140817_132954

20140817_132935

20140817_132917

2 thoughts on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: The Witch of Blackbird Pond

  1. Paul Zelinsky says:

    I’m coming to this two years after its posting; came across it while trying to find out who painted this cover you are justly appreciating. With all of the appreciation you express, why didn’t you give credit to the artist? That would have ended my search, first of all, but it would have been nicer for this artist or heirs and fans as well. Not being noticed or credited is an endemic problem for illustrators,

    • This is a valid point. It’s honestly not something I think of, though I sure will going forward. It seems an obvious thing to note now, considering why I do these posts, but hindsight is 20/20! If you still need the artist I can check my copy for info.

Leave a Reply

