Judging A Book By Its Cover: Wuthering Heights

IMG_4219

This is my weekly post where I choose to appreciate a book for its cover art or overall design – to me, a well designed book is like a piece of art. We all judge book covers to some extent. Personally, it’s usually a title/cover combination that pulls me in when I’m browsing in a bookstore. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books, or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers (looking at you, Penguin!) wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

IMG_4220Today I wanted to feature my two copies of Wuthering Heights (which I’ve yet to read – oops!) – one vintage and one new. From what I can tell my vintage copy is from 1936, by Books, Inc. My other edition is the Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition (ISBN: 9780143105435), published in 2009. I bought this edition first, and I’ll admit, though I do intend to read this classic, I primarily purchased it because of the beautiful cover art. I picked up my vintage edition online (from Instagram!), with another book from the Books, Inc. Art-Type collection.

IMG_4221

IMG_4231

IMG_4232

IMG_4233

IMG_4234

IMG_4222

IMG_4223

IMG_4224

IMG_4227

IMG_4228

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: Wuthering Heights

Leave a Reply

