October Wrap Up

monthlytotals

October!

In October I read 8 books for a total of 2,321 pages and an average of 75 pages per day! One book was for review and my favorite book this month was probably…Bossypants, though More Than This is a close second!

The Knight by Gene Wolfe

American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

More Than This by Patrick Ness
Notable Quotes:
“People ask for what they need in different ways. Sometimes by not even asking for it at all.”
“But hell you make for yourself is still hell, maybe.”
“People see stories everywhere. We take random events and we put them together in a pattern so we can comfort ourselves with a story, no matter how much it obviously isn’t true. We have to lie to ourselves to live. Otherwise, we’d go crazy.”

Holding on to Georgia by Courtney Giardina – I also did a little author interview with this review, which was a first for me.

Gabriel Finley and the Raven’s Riddle by George Hagen

Amphigorey by Edward Gorey

The Muppet Show Book by Jim Henson

Bossypants by Tina Fey

I also ran out of space in my little notebook I use to keep track of my reading – yes, I write it all in a notebook first, then upload it into my nerdriffic spreadsheet.

20141031_215525

This little guy has been tracking my reading since January 2011 and has now tapped out at the end of October 2014. I wish I’d been able to fit the rest of this year in there, but I didn’t want one notebook to stop in the middle of the month. I like that this came with a little pocket in the back and the ringed style made it easy to slip a pen into. I have since transitioned to this:

20141031_215602

It doesn’t have a pocket and I have to clip my pen to the outside, but it’s almost the same size and it’s book-themed. Granted, I could have gone out and bought a new notebook, with more of the features I was looking for, but honestly, I have tons of unused notebooks and I wanted an excuse to use what I have. Yes, that’s me, turning down the chance to spend money on something book related! Wow! Don’t worry, I’ll make that up somewhere else. :]

~

While I’m on the subject of book notebooks, does anyone else use one to keep track of their reading? Or do you maybe write down books you want to read, or quotes/thoughts on your current reads?

 

2 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

