Judging A Book By Its Cover: Winnie the Pooh

IMG_4202

This is my weekly post where I choose to appreciate a book for its cover art or overall design – to me, a well designed book is like a piece of art. We all judge book covers to some extent. Personally, it’s usually a title/cover combination that pulls me in when I’m browsing in a bookstore. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books, or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers (looking at you, Penguin!) wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

IMG_4204

I forget when I received this little cuties – I do believe they belonged to someone else in the family and I adopted them, as I have a tendency to do. This little collection is called Pooh’s Pot O’ Honey (from 1968 I believe) and consists of four tiny stories: Pooh Hears a Buzzing Noise, Pooh Goes Visiting, Pooh and Piglet Go Hunting and Eeyore Loses a Tail. They are illustrated by E. H. Shepard and are just under 4 inches tall.

Here’s a not-so-great photo of my hand to show how small the books are (or how small my hands are?):

IMG_4217

Anyway they are teeny and adorable and I’m glad to have them!

IMG_4203

IMG_4205

IMG_4207

IMG_4209

IMG_4211

IMG_4208

IMG_4213

IMG_4206

IMG_4215

Leave a Reply

