The Classics: Are They For You?

IMG_4127

I don’t know about you, but I have a love hate relationship with “classic” literature. First off, let me start by ranting about how everyone assumes just because I read a lot, that I’m an expert on classic literature. I may have touched on this before, but many people assume that just because I own over 1,000 books, and I spend most of my free time reading, that I’ve read all the classics. Well, sorry, but I haven’t. I’d like to read several of them, but unfortunately many of them can be a chore to get through.

Pride and Prejudice happens to be one of my favorite books, and I’ve read several of Austen’s other works, and I appreciate her wit and style. In fact, I make a point of trying to read Pride and Prejudice every year. However, that doesn’t mean I like every book written in the 1800s. In fact, I really wanted to like Jane Eyre but found the book to be incredibly boring and I skimmed through several parts. Sadly, I prefer the movie version with Michael Fassbender, ohmygourd and I felt that the book could have been cut down by about a third. But on the other hand, I read David Copperfield towards the end of middle school and loved it. I definitely want to read more Charles Dickens. I also want to read Wuthering Heights. But back on the negative side, I couldn’t even finish Dracula or Little Women, I found them both too boring to even finish. I really want to read Moby Dick, but I’ve been putting it off because I’m pretty sure I’ll hate it. I’ve decided not to attempt Anna Karenina because I don’t think I could get through that either. Even the wiki on that book is too long to read!

So as you can see, I’m pretty divided. I’m sure there are reasons that classics are considered classics, but that doesn’t mean I should want or have to read them just because someone else judged them to be classic. Most of the time I just feel too removed from the writing style.

How about you – Do you enjoy the classics? What books in the classic category have you read? Any in your TBR?

9 thoughts on “The Classics: Are They For You?

  1. I haven’t read much classic literature, aside from the dystopias (1984, Animal Farm, Brave New World…). I feel like I would probably enjoy the John Carter of Mars series though, and I would maybe attempt Anna Karenina because it’s a somewhat interesting sounding story/the writing is really beautiful in it. The Keira Knightley movie looked gorgeous, so I’d imagine that while reading 😛

    • I’ve read 1984 too – that was okay. I’d like to read AF and BNW. I think I’d like Android Karenina better. Lol. I did try watching the movie and it didn’t grab me. Not sure I’d like the book. I think I have better luck with older dystopias than the literary fiction. Grapes of Wrath was another book I just couldn’t get through.

      • Oy, I couldn’t even get through the Grapes of Wrath movie. Poor farmers in 1930 does not even sound interesting.

        I’m not much of a literary fiction fan in general, so yeah, I think I’d do better with classic scifi and fantasy. Jules Verne and the like.

  2. I’m the same! I love P&P and read it several times a year. I have only read Persuasion, Northanger Abbey and am currently reading Emma. I haven’t read Jane Eyre (but the movie OMG MICHAEL FASSBENDER) but I recently read Wuthering Heights.. it was good but in my opinion doesn’t hold a candle to P&P (does anything?). I bought Anna Karenina recently because I’ve been told by several people it’s not as hard as it looks. Little Women is on my bookshelf to read again (I swear I’ve read it before but it must have been a long time ago) so hopefully I like it.
    I think some people assume I’ve read the classics because I love P&P. I’m all for trying anything and attempting to read them but have no shame in admitting when I can’t get into a book.
    Anyway, have you read any Georgette Heyer? I just read The Grand Sophy and absolutely ADORED it.

    • Yeah people always ask me ” You’ve read blah blah, right?” and usually the answer is no because I read a lot of fantasy and YA. I’ve never even heard of Heyer actually. I’ll have to check that out!

Leave a Reply

