Judging A Book By Its Cover: Field Guide to Kanto

IMG_5348

This is my weekly post where I choose to appreciate a book for its cover art or overall design – to me, a well designed book is like a piece of art. We all judge book covers to some extent. Personally, it’s usually a title/cover combination that pulls me in when I’m browsing in a bookstore. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books, or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers (looking at you, Penguin!) wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

IMG_5349

If you’re a regular reader,  you may have picked up on the fact that I’m a little nerdy. I have no shame in admitting that I was a hardcode Pokemon fan in my middle school days, and that I still think they’re cool (and totally wish they were real). I stumbled upon this excellent little book online and had to own it. It’s illustrated by Kari Fry, published in 2013 with the help of Fangamer, ISBN: 9780984503209. It’s “an unofficial reference book intended to educate and inform any trainer or enthusiast aiming to be the very best in their field of creature studies.” I’m in love with her illustrations, which give all the original 151 Pokemon a realistic look. She also includes stats on their appearance, habitat, range, behaviour and evolution level – it’s perfect for any pokenerd! It’s also one of the few hardcovers that I haven’t put a dust jacket cover over because the interior of the cover is actually a mini poster of all the Pokemon. Too cool to permanently secure to the book.

And now, on to more pictures which are not as good as I’d hoped because I was losing my light and I’m too lazy to edit them:

IMG_5350

IMG_5351

IMG_5353

IMG_5354

IMG_5354

IMG_5355

IMG_5356

IMG_5357

IMG_5358

IMG_5359

 

2 thoughts on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: Field Guide to Kanto

Leave a Reply

