Mini Review: Dancers Among Us

pic from Google

Dancers Among Us
By Jordan Matter

My Edition:
Paperback, 240 pages
2012, Workman Publishing Company
ISBN: 9780761171706

Dancers Among Us is a beautiful collection of photography featuring dancers in every day settings doing fantastic and unique poses. I forget how I stumbled upon this book when it first came out, but it immediately went on to my endless my list of “to buy” books on Amazon and sat there for a while. I finally snagged a copy during Book Outlet’s Black Friday sale (the only shopping I did that day) and I’m so happy I did. This book is so pretty – an excellent choice if you’re looking for a photography coffee table book (I can’t put it on ours because it’s too dirty).

The book is divided into different sections like love, loss and play. At the start of each section, Matter gives a little anecdote about his life to kick off the theme. Each section has a few quotes that fit the theme, and of course the images fit the themes as well. At the end of the book, Matter also provides insight into how many of the photos were taken, or the inspiration behind them.

My only negative about this book is in regards to the layout. There are times when the photos are bisected by the spine – dancers are never cut into, but the split in the pages still distracts the eye from the beauty of the photo. I think this book would have been better suited to a more rectangular layout. so that the left or right edges of the photos start at the spine, rather than being interrupted by it.

Regardless, this is a wonderful book and I’m glad to own it! Here are a couple images to help persuade you:

pic by Jordan Matter

pic by Jordan Matter

pic by Jordan Matter

One thought on “Mini Review: Dancers Among Us

Leave a Reply

