Top 14 of 2014

20140822_174753

I wanted to make a ‘Top’ list for the books I finished in 2014, though I wasn’t sure what the number would be. I started by just going back over my spreadsheet with all the books I’ve read and picked out all my very favorites, not including any books that were re-reads. I ended up with 14 and decided to just go with that! Here are my picks, arranged (loosely) by genre.

Fiction (literary…ish):

Mambo in Chinatown by Jean Kwok
Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer

Fantasy:

The Golem and the Jinni by Helen Wecker
A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan

Crime:

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Graphic Novel:

Saga (vols 1-3) by Brian K. Vaughan

Horror:

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill
Horns by Joe Hill

Young Adult:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

Scifi:

Dark Eden by Chris Beckett
The Martian by Andy Weir

Memoir:

Bossypants by Tina Fey

~

What were your favorites of 2014? Do you agree with any of my picks?

Leave a Reply

