Mini Review: Soppy

During a recent trip to the library, in an attempt to get some writing done without getting distracted, I happened to get distracted by the graphic novel section! Typically I don’t browse at my local library, because I already have a growing library at home and I tend to borrow way more books than I can read.

But this time I just borrowed graphic novels, and I devoured those in no time. Since I took home seven graphic novels, I thought I would do a full week of mini reviews. I wanted to start off with something totally adorable, so here we go!

Image from Amazon

Soppy
By Philippa Rice

Not My Edition:
Hardcover, 106 pages
2014, Andrews McMeel Publishing
ISBN: 9781449461065

From the back of the book: Sometimes it’s about sympathizing with someone whose tea has gone cold or reading together and sharing a quilt. When two people move in together it soon becomes apparent that the little things mean an awful lot. The throwaway moments in life become meaningful when you spend them in the company of someone you love. 

This book. Is friggen. Adorable. I loved every little illustration and the lack of text gave me a better appreciation for what Rice was trying to convey. I’ve never been one of those people who considered my relationship to be “cute.” When I read this book I found myself going “aww” to a lot of the moments Rice conveys (alright, all of the moments) and I began to wish that my relationship was cute. Then I took a moment to realize that a lot of the little scenes that Rice depicts could be scenes from my own life, I’ve just taken them for granted! When I picked out this book it was because I knew it was going to be disgustingly adorable, but I didn’t realize that it would make me appreciate my relationship a little bit more.

This is a super cute little book and great for anyone who is a fan of sweet little drawings or relationship-related graphics.

I’ve included a few pictures – it was hard not to photograph every page because they’re all so damn cute!

20150107_000718

20150107_000758-1

20150107_000826

20150107_000925

20150107_000935

One thought on “Mini Review: Soppy

Leave a Reply

