January Wrap Up

monthlytotals

January!

I kicked off my new year by reading 21 books – most of them were comics, so it ended up being an unintentional Comic Month. I totaled 4,679 pages and averaged 151 pages per day. I’m happy with this progress, as my goal is to read 110 books this year. I’m also participating in a 50 book challenge, so as I go along, I’m seeing what books I read match the criteria. I chose not to use most of the comics I read this month for that challenge and I’m going to stick to just counting books going forward. I’ve also decided to document the first sentence of each book (not comics) that I read…just…because.

The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory
First sentence: In the moment of waking I am innocent, my conscience clear of any wrongdoing.
Notable quote: The fiction, as always, is secondary to the history; the real women are always more complex and more conflicted, greater than the heroines of the novel, just as real women now, as then, are often greater than they are reported, sometimes greater than the world wants them to be.
Challenge: A book that made you cry

Paris by Andi Watson

Soppy by Philippa Rice
Challenge: A book with a one-word title

Through The Woods by Emily Carroll
Challenge: A graphic novel

Level Up by Gene Luen Yang

Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Days of Blood and Fire by Katherine Kerr
First sentence: Round Cerr Cawnen the meadows lay marshy, crossed by a thousand streams, most no more than rivulets, and dotted with pools and bogs.
Challenge: A book with nonhuman characters

Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe

Pride and Prejudice (graphic novel) by Ian Edginton

Saga vol 4 by Brian K. Vaughan

In Real Life by Cory Doctorow

American Vampire vol 7 by Scott Snyder

Game of Thrones vol 3 by Daniel Abraham

Amphigorey Again by Edward Gorey

Amphigorey Too by Edward Gorey

Repeat by Neal Pollack
First sentence: On the morning before his fortieth birthday, Brad Cohen woke up feeling bad.
Challenge: A book published this year

Y The Last Man: Unmanned by Brian K. Vaughan

Y The Last Man: Cycles by Brian K. Vaughan

Y The Last Man: One Small Step by Brian K. Vaughan

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan
First sentence: The first Callanish knew of the Circus Excalibur was the striped silk of their sails against the grey sky.
Challenge: A book by a female author

The Paper Magician by Charlie Holmberg
First sentence: For the past five years, Ceony had wanted to be a Smelter.
Challenge: A book set in a different country

Leave a Reply

