Mini Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy

20150308_155116

The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks
By Sam Maggs

My Edition:
Hardcover, 207 pages
2015, Quirk Books
ISBN: 9781594747892
Expected Publication Date: May 12, 2015

I received this book for free from LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. All opinions in this post are my own.

Fanfic, cosplay, cons, books, memes, podcasts, vlogs, OTPs  and RPGs and MMOs and more – it’s never been a better time to be  girl geek. This guide is the ultimate handbook for ladies living  the nerdy life, a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom.

What a cute little book! Sometime last year I won a copy of Eric Smith’s Geeks Guide to Dating, also published by Quirk and I knew this book would be in the same vein – I’m a sucker for little guides like this. I love the overall style of this book, with the little illustrations and the bright blue accents in the text. I found that primarily this book gives information and tips on attending different types of conventions, and how to navigate and conduct yourself on social media. There are other sections detailing the joys of various fandoms, mini interviews with famous fangirls and even a section on feminism. If I ever decide to attend a convention, I’ll definitely refer to this book for advice, or if I need nerdy inspiration or gift ideas, there’s a great section of websites listed in the back of the book.

Maggs delivers all this information in a witty, relatable way, using lots of modern terms and inside jokes that our dorky sides will understand. I actually learned a few terms thanks to the vocabulary sections provided, especially where fanfiction was concerned. Like, how did I not know what NOTP meant!?

~

Are you a geek? A nerdy girl? Do you squee over your favorite shows, kick ass at video games, and/or re-read your favorite series over and over? Then chances are you’re a fangirl and this book has some helpful hints, nerdy resources like websites and convention info, and inside jokes that you’ll enjoy. I think it’s a little overpriced, but it would make a great gift for the fangirl in your life.

Bonus pictures!

20150308_155159

20150308_155206

20150308_155243

20150308_155310

20150308_155423

3 thoughts on “Mini Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy

Leave a Reply

