Judging A Book By Its Cover: Alice in Wonderland (VII)

IMG_5410e

This is my weekly post where I choose to appreciate a book for its cover art or overall design – to me, a well designed book is like a piece of art. We all judge book covers to some extent. Personally, it’s usually a title/cover combination that pulls me in when I’m browsing in a bookstore. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books, or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers (looking at you, Penguin!) wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

IMG_5411e

These two vintage beauties are my Peter Pauper Press editions of Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass from 1954 (I believe). I bought them both from the same shop on Instagram, but at different times. I’m glad I have the set. They’re in pretty good condition too. Not much to say about these two, except that I love them.

IMG_5412e

IMG_5413e

IMG_5414e

IMG_5415e

IMG_5418e

IMG_5419e

3 thoughts on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: Alice in Wonderland (VII)

  1. Britta says:

    I have been envious of you for having this set. The coloured prints look so great. But just now, hurray, I found a set in “fine condition” on AbeBooks. I can’t wait to receive it. These books are quite expensive in contition like yours, so be happy for having them also for that reason…

    😉

    Best regards, Britta

Leave a Reply

