April Wrap Up

monthlytotals

April!

I read 7 books for a total of 1,884 pages and an average of 63 pages per day. My favorite book was by far The Color of Magic by A Darker Shade of Magic wasn’t far behind. Now that I’ve slowed down on reading comics, I’m back at my usual monthly average. This will probably be my pace for the rest of the year, but it’s fine because we’re a third of the way through the year and I’m already 49 books toward my 110 book goal! My problem is that I’m still reading a lot of new, borrowed or review books, and I’m not tackling the massive pile of books I already own – need to work on that!

The Last Bookaneer by Matthew Pearl
First Sentence: Back in my salad days laboring for the New York Central and Hudson River Railroad Company, I would always keep an eye out to see if he would enter our car before the hour of departure.
Notable Quotes: “It is the real power of a book – not what is on the page, but what happens when a reader takes the pages in, makes it part of himself.”
“There are millions of average women and men who will refuse to take positions at the most important moments in their lives – moments that would have changed the course of their existences – for fear of being proven wrong. Fear is the impassable gulf between the ordinary and the remarkable.”
“The moral is this: authors do not create literature; they are consumed by it.”

Slash by Evan Kingston
First Sentence: The first bad one Alex reads opens with Ricky Coles hanging himself from their veranda with an extension cord.
Challenge: A mystery/thriller

Low by Rick Remender

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi
First Sentence: There were stories in sweat.
Challenge: A book set in the future

The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett
First Sentence: In a distant and secondhand set of dimensions, in an astral plane that was never meant to fly, the curling star-mists waver and part…
Notable Quote: “When I think I might die without seeing a hundredth of all there is to see it makes me feel, well, humble, I suppose. And very angry, of course.”
Challenge: A book you can finish in a day

The Evil of Oz by Ryan Fuller

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
First Sentence: Kell wore a very peculiar coat.
Challenge: A book written by someone under 30

2 thoughts on “April Wrap Up

    • Yes, haha, I was really feeling the magic theme this month. I plan to read more Pratchett and I expect to love it. Hopefully I can actually do that soon.

Leave a Reply

