Top Ten Tuesdays

girlbot

I’ve finally decided to participate in the Top Ten Tuesdays, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is Top 10 Books I Will Probably Never Read.

These are in no particular order:

  1. 50 Shades of Grey (or any of the sequels) – I couldn’t get through the Twilight series and I have no interest in the fanfiction. I’ve watched enough readings on YouTube to know that I won’t enjoy these books.
  2. Dracula – technically I started this book years ago and didn’t get very far. It was just too boring and I don’t think I’ll ever give it another shot.
  3. Anna Karenina – another classic that I don’t think I’ll enjoy, it seems too long and overly detailed for me.
  4. Anything else by Richelle Mead – I read the first Vampire Academy book and simply wasn’t impressed with her writing. I didn’t pick up on anything that made me want to give her a second chance.
  5. If I Stay – It seems this book had a lot of hype when it came out, but I have a feeling I’ll just think it’s another cliché YA romance.
  6. The Five People You Meet In Heaven – I’m simply not interested in the subject matter.
  7. The City of Bones – I read the prequel, I believe, Clockwork Angel? Clare’s writing did nothing for me and it was too predictable for me to want to give her main series a shot.
  8. The Notebook – this movie had me rolling me eyes so badly I thought I might have a seizure. I know books are typically better than their film counterparts, but romance just isn’t my genre.
  9. The Casual Vacancy – sure, Harry Potter was a great series, but I’m not a diehard J.K. fan and I have no interest in reading her other work.
  10. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – Another book with great reviews that I just don’t see myself giving a chance.

How about you? Do we agree on anything? Or, if you have any compelling reasons why any of these should be added to my (400+) TBR, I’m willing to listen!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays

  1. I totally agree with #1 Fifty Shades of Grey – ugh, everything I have heard about it bothers me – to put it simply….

    As far as arguments for others…

    I read If I Stay a few years ago, before it became popular/movie material, (because it was on a free pile of books) and while I HATE crying over books/movies I thought it was very well done and did it’s job – jerked all the tears, fo realz.

    With that being said I *would* re-read it (someday) and the sequel and most likely get to the movies in the future – 1. because I def liked the book and am curious about the follow up and movie rendition and 2. because a friend who read/saw the first movie said she wished the boyfriend character’s band was real cause it was so good. 😛

    I have also read Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and I enjoyed it (would need to re-read at this point) and def am interested in continuing the series and watching both the American and Foreign movies to see the contrast (there are some pretty intense scenes in the book and I’d assume the American movie dumbs it down/cuts it out as opposed to the Foreign version)

    Ok, that’s all I got!

    • Good input! If I Stay just doesn’t seem a genre I would read – I’m not really interested in sappy YA, which is what it seems like. So I’ll still probably never read that. I probably won’t read GWTDT either because that’s also not my main genre. I doubt I’ll see the movies for any of those either, as I’m not much of a movie person anymore.

Leave a Reply

