Mini Review: Rat Queens volume 2

pic from NetGalley

The Rat Queens
By Kurtis Wiebe

My Edition:
ARC e-book, 140 pages
2015, Image Comics
ISBN: 9781632150400
Expected publication date: May 19, 2015

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. All opinions in this post are my own.

From NetGalley: A brand-new, booze-soaked tale of the Rat Queens reveals a growing menace within the very walls of Palisade. And while Dee may have run from her past, the bloated, blood-feasting sky god N’rygoth never really lets his children stray too far.

In short: I need 100,000 more volumes of Rat Queens in my life RIGHT NOW. I love this series so much! I said it before in talking about volume one, and I’ll say it again – the Rat Queens are sexy, badass sword and spell wielding bitches. This series is in the same vein as Saga, but fantasy style instead of sci-fi, and I think if you enjoy that, you’ll love this. There’s humor and sex and violence and dark pasts and giant monsters and I can’t get enough! I love all the characters, the artwork is divine and it’s just the right amount of nerdy and adult.

In this volume we take a look into the past of several of the characters, adding layers of development, but keeping me wanting more! I especially loved Violet’s past and seeing her with a beard. Yes, a beard! I am probably most intrigued by Hannah’s past, because if I could be anyone in this universe, I’d want to be a badass mage like her.

I flew through this edition and I’m already desperate for more. The only reason I’m holding out on buying the editions is because I know I’ll read them immediately and give myself further withdrawals, so I’m waiting for there to be about 3-5 volumes published so I can devour them all at once.

I don’t know what else to say that wouldn’t be considered gushing. I just have so much fun when reading this series. If you’re looking for an adult, fantasy, dungeons and dragons-esque  style comic, please check out Rat Queens. Then tell me about how much you love it so we can gush together!

One thought on “Mini Review: Rat Queens volume 2

Leave a Reply

