June Wrap Up

June!

In June I read 6 books for a total of 2,096 pages and an average of 70 pages per day. I started two other books towards the end of the month as well. It’s also halfway through the year (crap!) and I’m doing well on my reading goal. I’m already through 68 of the 110 books I wanted to read. and I’m very happy. So far I’ve read 16,060 pages and average 44 pages per day. Not bad! I’ve checked off 24 of the 50 challenge prompts so far. Not sure how well I’ll do on that, as I haven’t actually started trying to read the types of books mentioned – mostly I’ve just been seeing what books I’ve read fit the challenge.

The Birthgrave by Tanith Lee
First Sentence: To wake, and not know where, or who you are, not even to know what you are-whether a thing with legs and arms, or a beast, or a brain in the hull of a great fish-that is a strange awakening.
Challenge: A trilogy

Uprooted by Naomi Novik
First Sentence: Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley.
Challenge: A book with magic

The Ables by Jeremy Scott
First Sentence: Those of you with sight are going to have to bear with me, at least for a while.
Notable Quote: “Optimism is a funny thing, and I may never understand how it so easily trumps reason.”

Vazkor, Son of Vazkor by Tanith Lee
First Sentence: One summer when I was nine years old, a snake bit me in the thigh.
Challenge: A trilogy

Matilda by Roald Dahl
First Sentence: It’s a funny thing about mothers and fathers.
Challenge: A book that came out the year you were born

Parasite by Mira Grant
First Sentence: The recording is crisp enough to look like a Hollywood film, too polished to be real.
Notable Quotes: “It’s always better to understand than it is to be left sitting in the dark; it’s always better to have answers, even when those answers lead to fresh questions.”
“Sometimes humanity is the reason we can’t have nice things.”
Challenge: A book that scares you

Leave a Reply

