Judging A Book By Its Cover: Die 13 1/2 Leben des Käpt’n Blaubär

This is my weekly post where I highlight and appreciate cover designs and the general physical appearance of books. We all judge book covers to some extent. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books, or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

I love Walter Moers. If you haven’t heard of him and you love fantasy and strange creatures and books and awesome illustrations, I’d recommend picking up the City of Dreaming Books (which I’ve also featured in a Judging Post). I own all his novels and recently discovered that a full color, hardcover copy of The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear exists (thank you Instagram!) so of course I had to have it! His illustrations are too fantastic to pass up in color! However, this edition is only available in German….so…I bought it anyway! I’m so glad I did because it’s utterly gorgeous and I really wish I could sit down to read it so I could fully absorb everything again in vivid color. Instead, I frequently flip through the pages and gaze longingly at all the fantastic imagery, wishing I’d magically develop the ability to read German. If you’re a big Moers fan, I’d suggest picking this baby up. Personally, I found mine on Amazon, but it was through Book Depository. I’ve noticed that the price has gone up since I purchased it, but here’s the ISBN with a link to Amazon in case you fall in love: 9783813505726.

One thought on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: Die 13 1/2 Leben des Käpt’n Blaubär

Leave a Reply

