Judging A Book By Its Cover: Secret Garden

This is my weekly post where I highlight and appreciate cover designs and the general physical appearance of books. We all judge book covers to some extent. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books, or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

I’m on a mini vacation at the moment (be jealous) so this post was hastily thrown together. But I’m not immune to the coloring book craze that’s hitting Instagrammers and other book bloggers. I’ve had my eye on this particular coloring book for a little while, and when I found it at Target recently, I didn’t hesitate to snap it up. It’s so lovely! I love the delicate, intricate designs, the thick paper, the cardboard covers, and the extra space for my own doodles, should I choose to make them. You can even color the book jacket! Secret Garden first came out in 2013 from Laurence King Publishing, ISBN: 9781780671062. It’s almost too pretty to touch, so for now I’m starting with the nameplate page.

One thought on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: Secret Garden

Leave a Reply

