September Wrap Up

monthlytotals

September!

In  September I read 8 books for a total of 2,280 pages and an average of 76 pages per day. I read four review books this month, and while two of them were incredibly disappointing (terrible really), I enjoyed the other two. Also, I’ve read 95 books so far this year and only need to read 15 more to meet my goal! Granted, I haven’t made as much progress reading my old books, as I’ve only read 19 of the 40 book goal I set for myself (old books being anything not purchased within the last 6 months or so).

A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore
First Sentence: Charlie Asher walked the Earth like an ant walks on the surface of water, as if the slightest misstep might send him plummeting through the surface to be sucked to the depths below.
Notable Quote: “Most of us don’t live our lives with one, integrated self that meets the world, we’re a whole bunch of selves.”

Yolo Juliet by Brett Wright
First Sentence: Mornin’, cuz!

Secondhand Souls by Christopher Moore
First Sentence: 1. Congratulations, you have been chosen to act as Death, it’sa dirty job, but someone has to do it.

Lumiere by Jacqueline Garlick
First Sentence: A brass mechanical elephant strides towards me, glinting gold in the amber setting sun.

Solarversia by Toby Downton
First Sentence: The minute Nova Negrahnu heard about Solarversia she wa convinced she was going to love it with ever ounce of her being.

The League of Regrettable Superheroes by Jon Morris
First Sentence: Contemporary culture has embraced superheroes in a major way.

The Case of the Left-Handed Lady by Nancy Springer
First Sentence: “We would not be in this deplorable situation,” declares the younger and taller of the two men in the small club-room, “if you had not tried to bully her into boarding school!”

The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets by Nancy Springer
First Sentence: Lunatics have no common sense, thinks the matron, but then, that’s what deranges the faculties, isn’t it, lack of common sense?

This month I didn’t really feel that any of the books I read fit my remaining challenge requirements. Though I almost pegged Lumeiere with “a book with bad reviews,” really, any book in the history of forever has bad reviews and Lumiere has a pretty high average on Amazon and Goodreads. I also almost put Yolo Juliet for my play…

Leave a Reply

