Book Review: The Adventures of Miss Petitfour

The Adventures of Miss Petitfour
By Anne Michaels
Illustrated by Emma Block

My Edition:
Hardcover, 124 pages
2015, Tundra Books
ISBN: 9781770495005

I received this book for free from LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. All opinions in this post are my own.

Miss Petitfour  loves lace, pockets, paisley, sweets and flying around with her cats via a tablecloth. Her cats, of which there are sixteen, also enjoy flying through the sky and generally having adventures. This book contains five adventures: Miss Petitfour and the Rattling Spoon, Miss Petitfour and the Jumble, Miss Petitfour  and the Penny Black, Miss Petitfour and the Birthday Cheddar and Miss Petitfour and the “Oom.”

As someone who has the potential to become a crazy cat lady, I was instantly attracted to this book – also because it looked like a beautifully illustrated book, which it is. This is just a fun, whacky little collection of stories.  It was a little tedious because every time her cats were mentioned, all sixteen were named in a row, but that’s easily skipped over. They have different personalities and there’s intro pages in the beginning detailing them all. I also liked that there were some interesting/challenging (depending on the age of the reader) vocabulary words and they were highlighted and defined, to stand out more. I always like to see an emphasis on vocabulary in children and middle grade books – I mean, who doesn’t want to see younger readers broaden their vocabulary and challenge themselves a little?

I highly recommend this book, especially for those looking to add a little silliness to their lives. Lastly, the illustrations were too cute – I loved all the colors and patterns, so I took some more pictures:

Aaand neither of my cats was really thrilled to pose with this book:

Leave a Reply

