Austen Month

Hello bookfriends! Last February I made up Austen Month to help me catch up on my backlog of Jane Austen books. I ended up reading 3 books and watching two movies. This year, I’d like to continue the trend and Austenize my February once again.

I’ve read all of Jane’s finished novels, so as far as her own work, I’m just going to tackle her Minor Works, which contains many short stories and letters, as well as Lady Susan and some unfinished fragments of work. I already dove into this at the end of January and so far I’m enjoying it quite a bit. The rest of the books I’ll be picking from are Austen inspired. I didn’t realize I had so many until I gathered them all up for this post.

Obviously I don’t expect to read through all 14 books – I’ll just pick from the group at random. I’m hoping to read at least 5 books though, and maybe rewatch Pride and Prejudice. Maybe I’ll even finish that BBC  adaptation with Colin Firth (which I’ve quit several times because somehow they made it so boring!)

Feel free to join me! I’ll be using #austenmonth on Instagram (and Twitter, if I remember to tweet…) to track my progress.

Leave a Reply

