Book Review: My Best Friend’s Exorcism

My Best Friend’s Exorcism
By Grady Hendrix

My Edition:
ARC Paperback, 332 pages
2016, Quirk Books
ISBN: 9781594748622
Expected Release Date: May 17, 2016

I received this book for free from Quirk Books in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. All opinions in this post are my own.

Abby and her three friends rule the school. One summer evening, after horsing around at the lake and then dropping acid together, Gretchen disappears into the woods after skinny dipping. The others find her hours later, hiding in an abandoned building, naked and dazed. The four brush off the incident, but afterwards Gretchen begins to act differently. As her personality takes a drastic change, Abby begins to think back to that night Gretchen spent in the woods and wonders if something  supernatural might be going on. Abby watches in horror as her world turns upside down and wonders if there is a way to save her friends.

Hendrix brings back his flare for horror and gore and adds a touch of 80’s culture in this creepy new read. I loved his first novel, Horrorstör, because it gave me the willies and kept me wanting more. I hoped that My Best Friend’s Exorcism would deliver more freaky flair and it didn’t disappoint. Abby was a relatable character who stood by Gretchen as her actions destroyed her friendships and popularity at school and wreaked havoc on her body. Even after suffering abuse at Gretchen’s hands, Abby was still willing to save her friend from the demons that plagued her.  I also enjoyed that the book had its dark moments, but also managed to stay somewhat lighthearted overall.  I think if you enjoyed Horrorstör, you’ll also enjoy My Best Friend’s Exorcism.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: My Best Friend’s Exorcism

Leave a Reply

