May Wrap Up

monthlytotals

May!

This month I read 9 books for a total of 3,079 pages and an average of 99 pages per day! I’m really happy with my stats this month, and more importantly I really enjoyed almost all of the books I picked up! I was especially enamored with The Wild Robot and Alias Hook!

My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix
First Sentence: The exorcist is dead.

The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson
First Sentence: Micah brought the music box to her on the night of the meteor storm.

Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn
First Sentence: “Did you see what happened?”

Sung in Shadow by Tanith Lee
First Sentence: “And do you not know, then?”

Risuko by David Kudler
First Sentence: My name is Kano Murasaki, but everyone calls me Risuko.

The Wild Robot by Peter Brown
First Sentence: Our story begins on the ocean, with with and rain and thunder and lighting and waves.

Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen
First Sentence: Second star to the right of what?
Notable Quote: “Kindness freely offered that asks for no reward, love that values another above yourself, the wisdom to live without fear. This is the best of life.”

Wolf Road by Beth Lewis
First Sentence: I sat up high, oak branch ‘tween my knees, and watched the tattooed man stride about in the snow.

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
First Sentence: Imagine a ruin so strange it must never have happened.
Notable Quotes: “Kissing looks like too much of someone else’s dental hygiene if you ask me.”
“Our mother used to have mystery under her skin, and we paid not the slightest attention.”
“…it’s still frightening when the things you love appear suddenly changed from what you have always known.”

Leave a Reply

