Judging A Book By Its Cover: The Brownies

This is my weekly post where I highlight and appreciate cover designs and the general physical appearance of books. We all judge book covers to some extent. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

My mum gave me this cute little vintage book and personally I’m glad it’s an ex-library copy because not only does it have more personality (and awesome old library cards in the  back),  but it’s already covered in plastic! The Brownies is by Palmer Cox, published in 1964 by Dover Publications.

2 thoughts on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: The Brownies

  1. It looks like it’s a fun read too. I read a bit of the words I could see in the photo. It reminds me of a middle grade fantasy book I read as a kid but I can never remember the title.

Leave a Reply

