September Wrap Up

monthlytotals

September!

This month I read 12 books (the most this year) for a total of 2,708 pages and an average of 90 pages per day. My favorite read this month was Cold-Forged Flame but Beacon 23 was also up there for me, as well as my re-read of Bridget Jones’s Diary.

Reviewed:

The Dream Stealer by Gregory Maguire
First Sentence: The night is dark, and the wind is high and strong and smells of snow: so gather close around the fire, my little friends, and I will tell you a tale of Baba Yaga the witch.

A Nearer Moon by Melanie Crowder
First Sentence: The river flows.

Cold-Forged Flame by Marie Brennan
First Sentence: The sound of the horn pierces the apeiron, shattering the stillness of that realm.

Marrow Island by Alexis M. Smith
First Sentence: This was my last glimpse of Marrow Island before the boat pulled away: brown and green uniforms clustered on the beach, tramping up the hill to the chapel and through the trees to the cottages of Marrow Colony.

A few thoughts on Goodreads:

The Empress of Bright Moon by Weina Dai Randel
First Sentence: Would he die tonight?

The Pale Horseman by Bernard Cornwell
First Sentence: These days I look at twenty-year-olds and think they are pathetically young, scarcely weaned from their mothers’ tits, but whenI was twenty I considered myself a full grown man.

Griffin & Sabine by Nick Bantock


Matchless
by Gregory Maguire
First Sentence: On an island so far north that it snowed from September to April, a boy named Frederick kept himself warm by keeping a secret.

Lords of the North by Bernard Cornwell
First Sentence: I wanted darkness.

Reviews to come:

Timekeeper by Tara Sim
First Sentence: Two o’clock was missing.

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
First Sentence: I will not: drink more than fourteen alcohol units a week.
Notable Quotes: “It struck me as pretty ridiculous to be called Mr. Darcy and to stand on your own looking snooty at a party. It’s  like being named Heathcliff and insisting on spending the entire evening in the garden, shouting ‘Cathy’ and banging your head against a tree.”
“There’s nothing worse than people telling you you look tired. They might as well have done with it and say you look like five kinds of shit.”

Beacon 23 by Hugh Howey
First Sentence: They don’t prepare you for the little noises.

2 thoughts on “September Wrap Up

    • Thanks! I seem to be picking up a lot of short books lately. Still struggling to get to the books that have been on my shelves for ages though. Lol. Yes, the iridescent colors caught my eye at the store. Couldn’t resist the shiny!

Leave a Reply

