Book Review: Good Behavior

good-behavior

Good Behavior
By Blake Crouch

My Edition:
ARC e-book, 288 pages
2016, Thomas & Mercer
IBSN: 9781503940499 (paperback)

Letty Dobesh is fresh out of prison and right back at her old tricks, stealing from hotel suites when she overhears a conversation between a man and the hitman he hired to kill his wife. Letty doesn’t exactly consider herself a good person – she’s estranged from her young son, addicted to alcohol and drugs and is a convicted felon – but she can’t sit back and let the murder happen. Three novellas about Letty’s misadventures give readers a look into a character Crouch created who now has her own TV show.

I loved Dark Matter, so when I saw NetGalley had Good Behavior up for offer I went for it, even though it’s not sci-fi. I did miss the part where this was a novella made up of three short stories, so when the first bit ended I was totally confused. But I went back and re-read the description and all was well.

Letty was immediately intriguing and I always enjoy a good anti-hero and I was able to dive right into the hot mess that is Letty’s life. It’s clear she’s addicted to crime, as well as alcohol and drugs and while I should think of her as a loser, I enjoyed watching her try con her way into and out of trouble.

All three short stories are chronological, so even though there are gaps in time, it does feel almost like a complete novel and I have a good idea of who Letty is. I would definitely read more books about her – I’m hoping there will be a full-length novel at some point.

The edition I read also included notes from Crouch on how each short has been adapted for the TV series that started this fall. While that wasn’t a bonus feature I was particularly excited about, it did give me some insight into the show and I likely won’t be watching it. That might sound like a bad thing, but Blake details how he’s changed some situations and characters to adapt Letty for TV, so the show will be a lot less gritty than the book. What he talks about in his notes makes sense and I appreciate the head’s up, because rather than go into the show expecting something I won’t get and end up disappointed, I can choose not to watch the show, or at least realize I’m not going to get the same vision as the book.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. All opinions in this post are my own.
You can visit Blake’s website.

One thought on “Book Review: Good Behavior

Leave a Reply

