2017 Reading Goals

 

Well, bibliofriends, a new year is fast approaching and I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t set myself some goals once more!

Currently, I’ve got two weeks left in December (this post will go up later than that, however) and I’ve read 106 goals. I’m super happy that I passed my 100 book minimum, which is basically what I have to read each year to keep up with my insane buying and borrowing. I think it’s pretty likely I’ll meet my goal of 112 or at least get close. But I’ll do a 2016 stats post in January so y’all can see how nerdy I am.

So what am I trying to achieve in 2017? Well, I’m going to stick with a loose goal of 100-112. I don’t honestly think I can keep reading a higher number of books each year because I do have to adult on a regular basis and sometimes I like to play video games or watch Netflix or nap. There’s no use setting a number I can’t achieve.

Within this goal, I still want to focus on books that have been sitting on my shelf for far too long. This year I only about 20-something of the books I read met the criteria and I was hoping for a number closer to half of my overall books read. So I’m still going to aim for about 40% of the books I read to be ‘dusty books,’ as I’ve been referring to them on Goodreads.

I still have quite a few series’ (serieses? How the hell do you write that…) I’d like to finish…but as that was one of my goals last year and I failed hard, I’m not going to write it out again. I know what ones they are and hopefully I’ll tackle them this year!

I’m also giving myself a little mini-challenge. I have tried one of those 50 book challenges to try to diversify my reading – but rather than pick books that met the criteria, I just matched whatever book I felt like reading to one of the challenges. So I came up with a small genre switch-up goal for myself.

If you’ve been around here or my IG even a little while it’s clear I love fantasy, sci-fi, middle grade and historical fiction. I’d like to branch out a little (though not too much because I love what I love and why change?!) so I picked six genres I don’t usually go for and found a book for each. I’m going to keep this low pressure, so I’ll just read them whenever, no deadlines.

If this sounds like a neat idea to you, feel free to participate and let me know what genres/books you’ve picked.

Romance: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (and possibly Master by Colette Gale because I found it for free and even though I know it’ll be a total dumpster fire, it’s the type of book I think of when I think of romance)

Memoir: Yes Please by Amy Pohler

Humor: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

YA Contemporary: Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Non-Fiction: Brain on Fire by Susannah Cahalan

Crime/Thriller: Stranger by Harlen Coben (a favorite author of Sweetbeeps)

Shout out to Chelsea for recommending Attachments and Serpent King and Melissa for Hyperbole and a Half when I told them I needed challenge ideas – here’s hoping I enjoy them! I mean, I hope I enjoy all the books, but I especially like when someone recommends a book that ends up being a hit for me.

Here’s hoping I can cut down my TBR a little and have another fantastic year of reading. If you set yourself goals or have any opinions on mine, let me know!

6 thoughts on “2017 Reading Goals

  1. I hope to read Brain on Fire next year too, in general, just read more of the books I already own. I also tend to just match what I read to the challenges I partake in. I plan to do less challenges next year tho.

  2. 100+ books! Woo hoo! How many did you end up with? If you have posted your 2016 reading stats already, I’m sure I will get to it soon.

    Good luck with all your goals in 2017! I also want to read more books off my shelves this year. I am hoping to read all my NetGalley books over the first half of the year, then focus on the books I already own for the second half… Easier said then done lol I am also going to do my best to not buy new books except for the books I’ll get for my birthday, at book events, and Christmas… I’m sure I will fail at that one too lol

    • My 2016 breakdown goes up tomorrow, but I read 120 books! I ended up binging some comics on the last day of the year. Yeah I need to finish up what review copies I have and try to be selective about those I request. They tend to come at me in waves and then I prioritize them over the books I’ve owned for years.

Leave a Reply

