December and 2016 Wrap Up

monthlytotals

December!

In December I read a whopping 18 books (thanks to my last minute Saga binge) for a total of 4,868 pages and an average of 157 pages per day. My favorite book this month was Illuminae, but that’s because I’m not counting The Hobbit, which I’ve decided I’ll re-read every December.

I’m going to skip the cover pictures this time because I have a lot of info to get through (and because I’m lazy and I’m not sure if I really need them in these wrap ups.)

Reviewed:

Good Behavior by Blake Crouch
First Sentence: Letty Dobesh, five weeks out of a nine-month bit for felony theft at Fluvanna Correctional Center, straightened the red wig over her short auburn hair, adjusted the oversized Jimmy Choo sunglasses she’d lifted out of a locker two days ago at the Asheville Racquet Club, and handed a twenty-spot to the cabbie.

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman
First Sentence: So here’s the file that almost killed me, Director.-
Notable Quote: “I am frequently underestimated. I think it’s because I’m short.”

Snakes & Stones by Lisa Fowler
First Sentence: There hasn’t been a traveling salesman in this neck of the woods in more than two years; that’s what some in the crowd are saying.

A few thoughts on Goodreads:

The Empty Throne by Bernard Cornwell
First Sentence: My name is Uhtred. (He’s used this as a first sentence in The Last Kingdom as well)

Warriors of The Storm by Bernard Cornwell
First Sentence: There was fire in the night.

The Vesuvius Club by Mark Gatiss
First Sentence: I have always been an appalling judge of character.

Wandmaker by Ed Masessa
First Sentence: Henry Leach the Eighth held the want between the thumb and forefinger of his left hand with a delicate touch.

The Silver Eyes by Scott Cawthorn & Kira Breed-Wrisley
First Sentence: He sees me.

The Books of Elsewhere: The Second Spy by Jacqueline West
First Sentence: If you believe that death is about to spring upon you at any moment, you won’t spend much time watching television.

Lick by Kylie Scott
First Sentence: I woke up on the bathroom floor.

Reviews to come:

Gilded Cage by Vic James
First Sentence: She heard the motorbike first, then the galloping horse – two distant points of noise in the darkness, converging on her as she ran.

Re-reads, no reviews:

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
First Sentence: In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.
Saga volumes 1-6 by Brian K. Vaughan

2016!

I read a ton these last four months and managed to read 120 books this year – surpassing my goal of 112 far more than I expected. I was initially blown away by this, but then I looked at my spreadsheet for last year and found I also read 120 books. ;D

30 of those books met my ‘dusty bookshelf’ challenge, which is respectable but not as high a number as I hoped for.

I read 33,871 pages in total (about 2k higher than last year) and an average of 93 pages per day. My monthly average was 10 books and 2,822 pages. December was my best month for total books and pages, largely due to the fact that on the 31st I planted my ass on the couch and read all six volumes of Saga.

Taking a look at some stats from Goodreads, the shortest book I read was The Liszts at 40 pages and the longest was Symbiont at 608 pages. The most popular book I read was The Hobbit with 2,185,073 other readers (holy shit) and the least popular was Devi volume 1 with only 2 other readers. My average rating given was 3.5 stars and the highest rated book I read was Saga volume 2 with a 4.58 star average.

I reached 107% of my goal and Goodreads’ message to me is: Congratulations! You’re really good at reading, and probably a lot of other things, too!

I am certainly good at devoting a lot of my spare time to reading and I aim to continue that this year! Happy reading to you all!

Leave a Reply

