Judging A Book By Its Cover: Snow White

This is my weekly post where I highlight and appreciate cover designs and the general physical appearance of books. We all judge book covers to some extent. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

Oh the divine artist that is Camille Rose Garcia! Longtime readers may recall my Judging Post on her edition of Alice in Wonderland – now here’s Snow White! The insipid, cabin-dwelling, chore-loving princess is brought to a creepy new light with this awesomely designed edition. Not only is the artwork fabulous, but I love the overall layout of the pages and the typography as well. A drool-worthy edition to be sure. She simply needs to illustrate every fairy tale ever! This beauty was published in 2012 by Harper Design, (obviously) illustrated by Camille Rose Garcia with jacket design by Roberto de Vicq de Cumptich. ISBN: 9780062064462

5 thoughts on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: Snow White

  1. There’s more?!?!? I saw the Alice in Wonderland edition you featured, but didn’t realize the artist did other books! Are there any more you are keeping from us? I love that this artwork is on the darker side. They would make for excellent tattoos 🙂

    • Haha I have another one coming up! As far as I can tell there’s only the three books like this, then there’s like actual art books of her work. I love the dark element too.

Leave a Reply

