Dare You Tag

I’ve decided to do the I Dare You tag (not sure why it’s called this…) though I don’t know where it originated, I found it over on Cait’s blog, Paper Fury, and the last two questions have been added by her.

1. What book has been on your shelves the longest?

This is nearly impossible to answer accurately. What first comes to mind is definitely not a series that’s been on my shelf the longest, but it’s one I’ve owned for years and years and have been trying to read over the past few years, which is Katherine Kerr’s Deverry series. I like it, but 15 books is a lot…

When I look through my LibraryThing ‘To Read’ shelf, I have several books that were added in February of 2010 because that’s when I signed up and started logging all my books. So we’ll go with the first on that list, which is Treasure Island.

Likely there’s something older, but I have no earthly idea how to find that out. 😀

2. What’s your current read, last read, and next read?

I’m currently reading The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, I just finished Wizard and Glass and I have no fucking idea what my next read will be. I’ll decide once I finish Angry Planet.

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

Uprooted, Throne of (Gl)ass, The Gilded Cage, The Wangs Vs The World….most YA books xD

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but probably won’t?

Moby Dick comes to mind first.

5. Which book are you saving for retirement?

Moby Dick? lol. Maybe the Lord of the Rings trilogy because I love the Hobbit too much to give them a chance and also I tried to read the first book once and it was super boring. I want to give it a chance someday….but it’s low on the list.

6. Last page: Read it or wait till the end?

Ok, who the fuck reads the last page first!?!??!?!?!? If you do this, please tell me why (and also cower because I might smack you) – seriously though, why would you do that? Even if it’s not spoilerfull, I can’t imagine it would make much sense or enhance the reading of the rest of the book. Ugh.

7. Acknowledgments: Are they a waste of paper or interesting?

They can sometimes be interesting, but even if they’re boring I don’t think they’re a waste.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

Uhhhhhhhhhhh. UHHHHHH. The pressure! I don’t know! Some of the characters I like best have horrible things happen to them. I mean, I know life’s not easy for everyone, but I wouldn’t want my whole family dying or to lose my hand or something. Maybe Alice? Because while trippy and semi-horrifying, her adventures are all in her head (or drug induced?) and she remains relatively safe…though….there is that scene with all the water. Shit, so not Alice. Maybe that guy with the coat from A Darker Shade of Magic? His coat was really fucking cool….

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?

Well, some of the books I’ve read since middle school remind me of being young, but I can’t think of anything specific.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

Well, if you missed my Goodreads confession, back in high school Mum gave me King’s On Writing. I read it and enjoyed it. A year (or maybe two) ago my friend Mel gave me the same book. She was so excited and didn’t know I owned it, so I said I didn’t own it and hadn’t ever read it (sorry Mel, I meant well!) but at least it was the 10th-anniversary edition so it was technically a different copy. I (think) I swapped my first copy (but it might be packed away). Then this past Christmas my friend Jon gave me the anniversary edition again! He also didn’t know I owned it and had read it so I lied and said I didn’t and hadn’t. 😀 It wasn’t worth returning because Amazon makes you ship books back, so I read that copy and now have it on my writing desk with lots of page flags marking important passages.

11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

Uhm, no. I keep my books and if there’s a book I’d like someone to have, I buy it for them.

12. Which book has been with you the most places?

Probably the beat up copy of The Hobbit that I got from the free shelf at the library. It’s been in my car for over a year (maybe longer, I suck at remembering things) and thus, it goes where my car goes. I don’t exactly drive all over hell and creation, but it has more mileage than my other books.

13. Any required reading you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad later?

I haven’t re-read anything from high school. There was some required reading I liked, but I don’t plan on re-reading the ones I didn’t enjoy except maybe Great Gatsby? I do own it…

14. Used or brand new?

I love both!

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Haha yes, two actually. Why is this a question?

16. Have you ever seen a movie that you liked more than the book?

Beautiful Darkness? Is that what it’s called? It’s that YA southern witch book by Kami Garcia and someone else….I’m too lazy to look it up (because I’m also currently watching Mean Girls and it’s distracting). Anyway, the movie isn’t great but the book, WOOF (I saw the movie first and I totally thought the book was going to be better and I was totally wrong). Also, The Last Kingdom Netflix series is turning out great (though I’m not even done with S2 so that could change) and while I won’t say it’s better than the series, I like some of the changes the show has made better than what happens in the book, despite some of them being very significant. Also Uhtred is totally hot and Finnic is sassy and awesome and Beocca is charming as hell.

17. A book that’s made you hungry?

George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series – the man can really write about a feast! Also, the Alchemaster’s Apprentice by Walter Moers – the villain in that book is a foodie as well.

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

Well, there are probably some recs I still wouldn’t read, but my friend Mel has very similar tastes. Chels can be relied upon for some genres too.

19. Most read authors?

Tanith Lee, Charles de Lint, Walter Moers, Philippa Gregory, George R.R. Martin, Christopher Moore.

20. Ship from two different books?

Uhm. I don’t sail a lot of ships when it comes to books, tbh. I do better with tv. But maybe…ugh. I’m not good at this question either. I FORGET EVERY BOOK I’VE EVER READ.

2 thoughts on “Dare You Tag

  1. I also LOVED The Hobbit but died of boredom when I read The Fellowship of the Ring! I still want to continue on with the other two books at the very least to say that I’ve read them. I think the LoTR series is one of the only instances where I prefer the movies to the books.

    • Yeah there’s a simplicity to the hobbit. The world is still complex, but we don’t seem to need a whole history lesson, we’re thrown right into the action.

Leave a Reply

