Judging A Book By Its Cover: The Liszts

This is my weekly post where I highlight and appreciate cover designs and the general physical appearance of books. We all judge book covers to some extent. I can’t say that I’ve ever decided against a book with terrible cover art if I liked the sound of the plot, but I have purchased special editions of books or multiple editions of books based on their cover art. If book covers didn’t matter, publishers wouldn’t put out so many beautiful editions!

I am a notorious list maker and I was super excited when I saw this book up for grabs on LibraryThing’s monthly giveaway. I was even more excited to find out I won it! This is a wonderful, large, illustrated book. If you love illustrated children’s books, The Liszts (by Kyo Maclear and illustrated by Julia Sarda) is worth it for the art alone. But the story, though simple, is cute as well. There lives a whole family of list-makers who are consumed by their love of listing and they seem to have no room for anything else, until a stranger turns up. I would love to see this made into a movie, by the studio that did Triplets of Belleville – it would be perfect as a nearly silent film. I highly recommend this for listers young and old!

Published this year by Tundra Books, ISBN: 9781770494961. I received this book for free from LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. All opinions in this post are my own.

4 thoughts on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: The Liszts

Leave a Reply

