Book Review

Book Review: Pride and Prejudice (graphic novel)

Pride and Prejudice
By Jane Austen
Adapted By Ian Edginton
Illustrated By Robert Deas

Not My Edition:
Paperback, 144 pages
2011, SelfMadeHero
ISBN: 9781906838300

Pride and Prejudice is the love story of Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy and if you haven’t read the novel, or a comic adaptation, or even seen a movie, you should probably check it out. 

Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite novels and I currently have sixteen copies of book (yes, I’m crazy) as well as various adaptations. I own the Marvel comic adaptation and I didn’t realize this edition existed until I stumbled upon it at the library.

This is a solid adaptation and would make a great starting point for young readers, or someone who wants to find out what this story is all about, without diving right into Austen’s novel. To be honest, the artwork is nice, but I prefer the style of Hugo Petrus in my Marvel adaptation. I wouldn’t mind adding this edition to my collection, but I’m not going to rush out and buy it. I also appreciated the kiss illustration at the end, as that’s something I think Austen’s novel is missing. (Why can’t they just kiss dammit!?)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Pride and Prejudice (graphic novel)”

[._.[] Initiate Conversation