Judging A Book

Judging A Book By Its Cover: Still More Middle-Grade!

This is my weekly post where I highlight beautiful books from my collection. We all judge book covers to some extent (don’t lie, you totally do!) I created this feature to showcase and admire the art and design elements of some of the books I own. If covers didn’t matter, publishers wouldn’t make so many wonderful editions!

Here today with two more fabulous looking middle-grade reads that I’ve yet to read! There’s a theme on this blog, if you couldn’t actually tell.

Amina’s Voice by Hena Khan has a lovely cover illustration by Abigail Dela Cruz and cover design by Krista Vossen. It was published in 2017 by Salaam Reads, ISBN: 9781481492072.

The Glass Sentence by S.E. Grove has a wicked awesome cover illustration by Stephanie Hans and maps by Dave Stevenson. It was published in 2014 by Puffin, ISBN: 9780142423660.

What a cool, creepy trio.

I mean, just look…

Who is she!? I kind of want to be here.

7 thoughts on “Judging A Book By Its Cover: Still More Middle-Grade!”

  1. The Glass Sentence trilogy is AMAZING and does not, in my opinion, get its fair share of praise. I don’t care if it’s an “older” work–it’s still brilliantly original.

    Amina’s Voice I thought was an okay read. It didn’t stand out among the other MG books published around that time. I love the cover, though, and I appreciate the push for diversity in publishing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like I’ve had Glass Sentence on my shelves for longer than I think, but I also thought it was a relatively new series. 2014 isn’t as recent as I thought. I feel like mentally I still feel like it’s 2017 or something. Haha. I hope I love it when I get around to it. And that I can get matching covers if I buy the other 2

      Like

      1. 2014 doesn’t seem that long ago to me, either, but I’ve noticed that, in book blogging, people seem to go year by year and not really bother with stuff older than a year or two. I don’t think the general public does that, though. Which I find fascinating. Book bloggers worry they won’t be relevant if they aren’t reviewing only new releases, but “relevant” has different meanings for different audiences.

        Anyway, I remember being confused the first time I read The Glass Sentence, but then I gave it another try and I loved it! I’d love for S. E. Grove to write more in that world. Her recent YA release The Waning Age is good, but the world doesn’t feel as interesting or as well developed.

        Like

        1. Yeah I’ve always had that issue with some bloggers and YouTubers – there are so many books out there, how can we just focus on new releases?! So few people read and review the really old stuff too. Like 70s-90s. There’s a lot of great fiction on my shelves that’s totally not relevant in the bloggosphere. In fact, I’m usually pretty terrible at keeping up with new books.

          Glad to hear that about G.S. I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it…whenever I get to it 🤣

          Like

[._.[] Initiate Conversation