Mini Review: Level Up

For day four of my mini review week, I wanted to lighten up a little after Through The Woods, so I picked up Level Up.

Pic from Amazon

Level Up
By Gene Luen Yang
Illustrated By Thien Pham

Not My Edition:
Hardcover, 160 pages
2011, First Second
ISBN: 9781596437142

From the back of the book: Struggling with bad grades, a video game addiction, and his father’s death, Dennis Ouyang is on the verge of dropping out of college when four adorable angels appear and take charge of his life. But  nothing is ever what it seems, when life, magic, and gaming collide. 

I’ve read some of Yang’s other work and I love his writing, so of course I was going to borrow this book. Level Up is a fun, geeky, coming of age story. Dennis falls in love with video games at a young age and I can relate, except that Dennis is way better at them than I am. This story is a little sad, as well as funny and insightful (like all of Yang’s work). I loved the video game, and specifically, the Pac-Man references. The ending was unexpected and I enjoyed the direction it went in.

If you’re a fan of Yang’s work, definitely read Level Up. If you haven’t read anything by him yet, this could be a good place to start!

P.S. As a friend warned me, I’ll warn you. There’s poop in this book!

20150108_125740

20150108_125756

20150108_130426

20150108_130519

20150108_132123

20150108_132205

One thought on “Mini Review: Level Up

Leave a Reply

